Kings of the 7s series rolls into Hawick

Strong city challenge on the cards but hosts will fancy their chances

Hawick Mansfield
Mansfield Park hosts the fourth round of the King of the 7s series this weekend ***Image: Fotosport/David Gibson***

ROUND FOUR of the Kings of the 7s series will play out at Mansfield Park in Hawick tomorrow [Saturday] afternoon and, fresh from their success at Melrose last weekend, Watsonians will be hot favourites to extend their six point lead at the top of the rankings table. Craig Borthwick, Rory Steele and Andrew Skeen have dropped out of the Myreside men’s squad, and are replaced by Jack Ferguson, Ewan Fox and former Scotland 7s core squad member Michael Fedo.

And with some of the other leading contenders – including Melrose, Jed-Forest, Edinburgh Accies, Kelso and Selkirk – focussed on their 15-aside responsibilities this weekend, the host club will have set their sights higher than just picking up their first ranking points of the season. Hawick failed to win their own tournament for only the second time in nine years when Gala came out on top 12 months ago, and will be desperate to put that right.


Proud to sponsor the Hawick Rugby Academy


Selkirk: C Whyte, R Cook, F Easson, S Clark, R Banks, R Hamilton, C Wagman, S MacDonald, R Wilson, M Davies.

Melrose: A Grieve, C Fairbarn, B McLean, S Hutchison, T Klein, M Klein, A Hall, L Mallin, I Ligaiviu, G McWilliam.

Kelso: A Common, F Common, T Wichary, C Johnston, A Haig, M Young, C Gillon, G Walker, D Welsh, S Patterson.

Heriot’s: I Wilson, S Dewar, C Marshall, S Simmers, D Martin, R Kay, D Crawford, C Robertson, I Kay, J Rae.

Berwick: A Forrest, B Roden, J Jackson, L Robson, E Grey, B Nicholson, A Rosie, R Miller, A Hutton, A Frost.

Edinburgh Accies: R Wilson, J Pecqueur, A Wood, R Davies, S Kirby, J Paterson, F Morrison, J Bruce, G Spencer, A Cowan.

Hawick: B McNeil, G Graham, S Graham, R McLean, D Redpath, G Munro, A Weir, K Davies, L Ferguson, D Buckley.

Watsonians: C McKill, E Miller, M Fedo, J Ferguson, A Harris, A Davidson, S McKean, J Miller, W Thomson, E Fox.

Peebles: B Davidson, R Britton, T Sloan, D Collins. A McDonald, A Smith, C Thrawl, M Smith, G Ingram, E Jackson.

Jed-Forest: D Grieve, G Young, E Stewart, M Chisholm, S Smith, K Amos, K Slingsby, R Elder, J Hynd, D Wardrop.

Hawick Force: L Stormont, M Renwick, R McLeod, G Welsh, D Lightfoot, G Welsh, K Ford, K Brunton, L Gordon Wooley, M Tait.

Hawick Linden: S Donnelly, M Parker, J Rowley, R Graham, K Rowley, M Mallin, M Bell, E Wood, J Wilson, C Glendinning.

Gala: M Fought, C Jordan, R Jeffrey, R Irvine, G Speirs, R Howarth, R Todd, J Turnbull, K Young, S Wilkinson.

Boroughmuir: C Keddie, M Walker, J Edmunds, T Drennan, E McKirdy, G Cannie, R Kerr, G Welsh, R Scott, M Hare.

The 10 things you need to know about the National League Cup Final

Accies and Jed shoot it out for National One title

Cockerill signs contract extension with Edinburgh

Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 2)
Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 3)


2:00pm: Melrose v Kelso

BYE – Selkirk

2.18pm: Heriot’s v Berwick

2.36pm: Edinburgh Accies v Hawick

2:54pm: Watsonians v Peebles

3.12pm: Jed-Forest v Hawick Force

3.30pm: Hawick Linden v Gala

BYE – Boroughmuir

6.30pm: The Final


23 pts – Watsonians

17 pts – Melrose

14 pts – Gala

13 pts – Edinburgh Accies and Jed-Forest

6 pts – Peebles

 5 pts – Boroughmuir

3 pts – Selkirk, Kelso and Heriot’s

Accies and Jed shoot it out for National One title


We hope you have enjoyed reading this article

We invite you to support our work reporting on all levels and aspects of the game in Scotland.

 For as little as £5 you can support the work of The Offside Line – and it only takes a minute and will make a big difference.

Subscribe to The offside Line

David Barnes
About David Barnes 865 Articles
David has worked as a freelance rugby journalist since 2004 covering every level of the game in Scotland for publications including The Sunday Times, The Telegraph, The Scotsman/Scotland on Sunday/Evening News, The Herald/Sunday Herald, The Daily Mail/Mail on Sunday and The Sun.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.